CD Review: Ocean Child: Songs Of Yoko Ono Various Artists


Ocean Child: Songs of Yoko Ono is the fourth Yoko Ono tribute album since the release of Every Man Has a Woman (1984) that included John Lennon's version of Yoko's Every Man Has a Woman Who Loves Him from Double Fantasy. Other tribute albums released in honour of Yoko are Yes, I Am a Witch (2007) and Cut Pieces, Tribute to Yoko Ono (2015).

Tackling a Yoko Ono song is a difficult task, does the artist offer a note for note copy of Yoko's version or attempt to offer something different.

Ocean Child: Songs of Yoko Ono takes the safe route but it's all better for it with some excellent versions of some of Yoko's best songs.

Sharon Van Etton opening cover of Toyboat sets the scene for Ocean Child with her faithful  version of Toyboat, Dogtown from Sudan Archives takes the same path while No, No, No by Deerhoof and Nobody Sees Me Like You Do from Japanese Breakfast complete a quartet of cover versions from Yoko's Season of Glass album.

Who Has Seen the Wind was the b-side of John Lennon's hit 1970 hit single 'Instant Karma'. David Byrne with Yo La Tengo deliver an excellent version of the song, probably the stand out track on Ocean Child along with Waiting for the Sunrise by Death Cab for Cutie and the Flaming Lips contribution of Mrs Lennon.

Jay Som's version of Growing Pain from Feeling the Space is also a triumph from the Los Angeles based DIY and bedroom-pop singer, songwriter.

American indie rock band Yo La Tengo go solo with an exceptional version of There's No Goodbye Between Us from Yoko's most recent album Take Me to the Land of Hell.

Ben Gibbard of Death Cab for Cutie curated Ocean Child: Songs of Yoko Ono and has to be applauded on this excellent collection of songs and artists paying tribute to our Ocean Child.

TRACK LISTING: 1. Toyboat - Sharon Van Etten, 2. Who Has Seen the Wind? - David Byrne & Yo La Tengo, 3. Dogtown - Sudan Archives, 4. Waiting For The Sunrise - Death Cab for Cutie. 5. Yellow Girl (Stand By For Life) - Thao, 6. Born In A Prison - U.S. Girls, 7. Growing Pain - Jay Som, 8. Listen, The Snow Is Falling - Stephin Merritt, 9. No, No, No - Deerhoof , 10. Don't Be Scared - We Are KING, 11. Mrs. Lennon - The Flaming Lips, 12. Nobody Sees Me Like You Do - Japanese Breakfast, 13. There's No Goodbye Between Us - Yo La Tengo, 14. Run Run Run - Amber Coffman


Popular posts from this blog

CD Review - Ultra Rare Tracks - Paul McCartney


The Beatles – GET BACK